Where is Equatorial Guinea?

Equatorial Guinea is located in the Northern Africa region at latitude 1.650801 and longitude 10.267895 and is part of the African continent.

The DMS coordinates for the center of the country are:

  • 1° 39' 2.88'' N
  • 10° 16' 4.42'' E

You can see the location of Equatorial Guinea on the world map below:

Pin pointing out Equatorial Guinea on a map.

Equatorial Guinea Neighboring Countries

The neighboring countries of Equatorial Guinea (GQ) are:

  1. Cameroon (CM)
  2. Gabon (GA)

Maritime Borders

Equatorial Guinea bordres with the Gulf of Guinea.

Equatorial Guinea Related Content

Equatorial Guinea Key Facts

CountryEquatorial Guinea
CoordinatesLatitude: 1.650801
Longitude: 10.267895
Country CodesAlpha 2: GQ
Alpha 3: GNQ
Country Flag Emoji🇬🇶
Int. Phone Prefix+240
Capital cityMalabo
Northern Africa
Country Area28,051 sq km
Population 20211,449,891
World Rank: 150
Median Age20.9
Life expectancy60.6
Major languagesSpanish (official) 67.6%, other (includes Fang, Bubi, Portuguese (official), French (official)) 32.4% (1994 census)
UTC/GMT TimeNumber of time zones: 1
  • UTC+01:00
Internet TLD.gq
Biggest AirportMalabo International Airport Aeropuerto Internacional de Malabo (SSG)
Average temperature24.55 °C
76.19 °F
Administrative Divisions2 regions 8 provinces
Political systemPresidential representative democratic republic

Equatorial Guinea Economy Facts

World Bank Income GroupUpper middle income
World Bank RegionSub-Saharan Africa
CurrencyCFA Franc (XAF)
GDP in 2020$10.1 (billions of USD)
World Rank: 145
GDP per capita in 2020$7,198
World Rank: 81
Major Industries / Economic SectorsOil and gas, agriculture, manufacturing, energy
Top 5 Import CountriesChina, United States, France, Spain, Portugal
Top 5 Export CountriesUnited States, China, Spain, France, Netherlands

Biggest Cities in Equatorial Guinea

Here are the largest cities in Equatorial Guinea based on 2021 data:

City Population
Bata 250,770
Malabo 187,302
Ebebiyin 36,565
Anisoc 16,626
Bengonbeyene 15,644
Aconibe 13,382
Rebola 10,000
Evinayong 9,155
Luba 7,739
Mongomo 7,251

Map of Equatorial Guinea with the Largest Cities

Other Countries in the Northern Africa Region

Map of Equatorial Guinea, Regions, Geography, and Facts

Equatorial Guinea has 8 provinces. These are San Antonio de Palé, Bioko Norte, Bioko Sur, Centro Sur, Kié-Ntem, Litoral, Wele-Nzas, and Djibloho.

In this article, we will give some general information about the provinces of Equatorial Guinea such as population and area.

You can see the Provinces of Equatorial Guinea on the map below.

Provinces of Equatorial Guinea Map

A color-coded map showing the provinces of Equatorial Guinea with a compass rose indicating north.
Provinces of Equatorial Guinea

Provinces of Equatorial Guinea


Aerial view of a large, lush green island with clouds hovering above and a coastline visible, surrounded by blue water.

The capital of the province is San Antonio de Palé. The population of 2015 is 5,232. It also has an area of 17 square kilometers.

Bioko Norte

Aerial view of a coastal town with buildings densely packed together, surrounded by water on one side and greenery on the other, under a cloudy sky.

The capital of the province is Rebola. The population of 2015 is 299,836. It also has a surface area of 776 square kilometers.

Bioko Sur

A mountain peak partially hidden by clouds, with green vegetation in the foreground under a blue, cloudy sky.

The capital of the province is Luba. The population of 2015 is 34,627. It also has an area of 1,241 square kilometers.

Centro Sur

A rural road with a few vehicles leading into a small village surrounded by lush greenery and trees under a cloudy sky.

The capital of the province is Evinayong. The population of 2015 is 141,903. It also has an area of 9,931 square kilometers.


A rural road with a clear sky and scattered clouds above, flanked by greenery and a few small buildings.

The capital of the Province is Ebebiyín. The population of 2015 is 183,331. It also has an area of 3,943 square kilometers.


A coastal road curving along the shoreline with a few cars, palm trees lining the side, and buildings in the distance under a cloudy sky.

The capital of the province is Bata. The population of 2015 is 366,130. It also has an area of 6,665 square kilometers.


A serene waterfront scene with a drawbridge raised in the distance, boats docked along the shore, and a clear blue sky with scattered clouds.

The capital of the province is Mongomo. The population of 2015 is 191,383. It also has an area of 5,478 square kilometers.

Country Facts

  • Population: 1,343,011
  • Population Density: 48 per Km2
  • Land Area: 28,050 Km2
Equatorial Guinea Map
Equatorial Guinea Map

Equatorial Guinea is one of the smallest countries in Africa, located in West Africa, on the coast of the Atlantic Ocean.

It is bounded by Cameroon in the north, Gabon in the south and east, the Gulf of Guinea in the west and São Tomé and Príncipe in the southwest.

A colorful political world map with countries marked in different colors, oceans in blue, and no labels or text.
Where is Equatorial Guinea?


As one of the smallest countries in the African continent, the country is spread over an area of 28.051 km². Of these, 26,000 km² is composed of the mainland, while the remaining area covers the islands. In the islands, Bioko is the biggest island of 2017 km². Starting from the mainland shore Mbini reaches up to 1,200 m inland.


The country is governed by a dictatorial regime, despite the country’s form of government as a parliamentary democracy. President Mbasogo is one of the top decision makers in the country.

Analysts say the country is governed by a Kleptocracy system and states that the country has one of the most corrupt systems in the world. With the constitutional amendment made in 1991, the president was elected for a period of seven years.

The head of state has the power to appoint the prime minister, members of the judiciary, and is also at the top of the armed forces.


It has a tropical climate. The average temperature is around 26 ° C. The average rainfall per year in the country with abundant rainfall varies between 2400-4600 mm. Between June and August, the Rio Muni region has a dry season, while Bioko has a rainy season. December – February is the opposite situation. Temperatures in the island of Bioko vary around 16 to 33 degrees Celsius, while temperatures in the Rio Muni region are around 27 degrees.


One of the characteristics that Spain left after the colonial period was religious. 87% of the people of Equatorial Guinea belong to the Catholic Christian faith. While 5% of the population is Protestant Christian, there are a group of about 1,000 Jehovah’s Witnesses in the country. The proportion of those who believe in local religions is almost negligible.

Industry and Tourism

The majority of people are engaged in agriculture. After the discovery and processing of oil resources in 1996, the economic development of the country has been affected in recent years. As of 2004, Equatorial Guinea has become the 3rd largest oil producer in Sub-Saharan Africa. Forestry, farming, and fishing are also important factors that meet gross national product.

Before the country gained independence from the cocoa production, the rural economy, which went bad under the relentless regime, reduced the potential for agricultural development. Owners of commercial establishments are mostly civil servants. Unprocessed natural resources are titanium, iron, manganese, uranium, and gold. Cocoa is the most important of export products. 75 percent of foreign trade in Spain. Spain is paying twice the price paid to Equatorial Guinea’s cocoa in the world market and applying fewer tariffs.