Equator Line/Countries on the Equator

The Equator is a huge circle of imagination that is assumed to be in the middle of the earth. The length of the earth’s equator is exactly 40,075.16 kilometers. The equator has a latitude of 0 degrees. It separates the northern and southern hemispheres.

As the Northern Latitudes increase from the Equator to the North Pole Point, Southern Latitudes are increasing as they move to the South Pole Point.

Below you can see the equator countries map. The map shows the equator line and the Countries on the equator line.

Map showing countries on the equator
Equator Line

The Equator is part of the coordinate system used to determine a point in the world. It is the place where the linear velocity is highest and at the same time, it is the least of the gravity. Equator longitude is 111 kilometers from each other.

The Tropic of Cancer in the north and the Tropic of Capricorn in the south of Equator are considered as equatorial regions.

Equator Countries List

An old map of showing the equator line with a compass
An old map of showing the equator line with a compass

Equator latitude takes the sun’s rays twice a year at full right angles. In this case, 21 March and 23 September situations occur. On other days, the sun rays take a vertical close angle. Overnight and daytimes are equal to each day. Because the enlightenment circle always divides the equator line into two equal parts. Since it has a tropical climate, it is constantly summer and also gets plenty of rainfall.

Countries that the equator passes through are:

  1. Gabon
  2. Congo
  3. Democratic Republic of Congo
  4. Uganda
  5. Kenya
  6. Somalia
  7. Maldives
  8. Indonesia
  9. Ecuador
  10. Colombia
  11. Brazil

Equator Countries in Asia

In Asia, there are two countries where the Equator passes. These are Maldives and Indonesia.

Equator Countries in Africa

There are six countries where the Equator crosses Africa. These are Gabon, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Uganda, Kenya, and Somalia.

Equator Countries in South America

In South America, there are three countries where the Equator passes. These are Ecuador, Colombia, and Brazil.

Ecuador and Equator

Ecuador, South America
Ecuador, South America

It is a wonder that there is a similarity between Ecuador and Equator. Ecuador’s official name is República del Ecuador, literally the Republic of the Equator. The Equator runs through the country. In fact, there is a great monument about 45 minutes away from Quito, where you can stand in both the northern and southern hemisphere.

You might think that the closest point to the sky might be Mount Everest, but that’s the wrong information. This is due to the fact that the Earth is not a perfect sphere.

Due to the rotation of the world, the equator swells slightly. This rise shows the fact that Mount Chimborazo in Ecuador is 1.5 miles higher than Mount Everest. As mountain peaks are measured at sea level, Mount Everest is higher. Because the bulge in the Earth at the Equator means that the seas are also higher.

Equatorial Guinea and the Equator

Equatorial Guinea and its neighborhood. Distant oblique perspective - shape glowed. satellite imagery
Equatorial Guinea and its neighborhood. Distant oblique perspective – shape glowed. satellite imagery

It is close to the Equator. Guinea comes from the word ‘aginaw’, a Tuareg word and means black. From this word, the country name is used in the sense of the country where black people live.

Geodesy of Equator

The term equator is an imaginary line that divides the world in two. This line is determined by geodetic calculations. The Equator is referred to as the 0 meridians. The Meridian line shows many similar features throughout.

Equator Location

The exact position of the Equator is not fixed. The actual Equator plane is perpendicular to the axis of rotation of the Earth, drifting about 9 feet a year. This effect should be taken into account in detailed geophysical measurements. There are also deviations in the Equator line since there are small deviations in the axis of rotation of the Earth.

Equator Length

In two commonly used geodesic standards, Equator is modeled as a circle with an integer meter radius. In 1976, the International Astronomical Union chose the radius of 6.378.140 kilometers (IAU-1976). The International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics was revised to 6,378,137 kilometers and approved in the WGS-84.

Despite this change, the newer IAU-2000 has retained its former IAU-1976 value. If it were really circular, the Equator would be exactly 2 π times the radius, 40.075.036 kilometers in length. However, due to the impact of tides on the surface of the Earth, the actual length of the Equator is about 40,075.16 kilometers.

Equator Climate and Seasons

Dense Amazon Forest
Dense Amazon Forest near the Equator Line

The seasons come from the fact that the Earth’s axis is tilted relative to the plane of the revolution around the Sun. During the year, the northern and southern hemispheres alternate between the sun, depending on the position of the Earth orbit. When a half-sphere is facing the sun, it takes much sunlight and lives in the summer. Meanwhile, the other half sphere lives in the winter by taking less sun.

The Equator is located in three major oceans, namely the Atlantic Ocean, the Indian Ocean, and the Pacific Ocean. Although there are dramatic differences in rain and humidity around the Equator, there is little change in temperature throughout the year.

Summer, autumn, winter and spring conditions are generally not valid. Plains around the Equator usually have tropical rainforest climate and cause cold currents. The tropical monsoon climates, also known as an equatorial climate, dominate the Equator District.

The average annual temperatures in the equatorial plains are around 22 and 27 °C. There are about 200 rainy days a year and the annual solar hours are around 2,000.

Despite year-round sea level temperatures, there are glaciers at some high altitudes like Mount Andes and Mount Kilimanjaro. The highest point on the equator is the 4,690-meter peak on the southern slopes of the Volcán Cayambe.

Equinox dates are the starting dates of the spring and autumn seasons for the world’s two hemispheres, and the events taking place on these dates show various similarities. On these dates, the sun’s rays fall down at a right angle to the Equator and herald the beginning of the season for the half-spheres.

What is Equinox?

Season on planet earth. Equinox and solstice.
Season on planet earth. Equinox and solstice.

While the Earth is a member of the Solar system, the Earth has the property of turning around its own axis and around the Sun. This led to the emergence of concepts such as night and day and seasons. Especially when we look at the movements of Earth around the Sun, certain dates are very important.

Some of the most important of these dates are 21 March and 23 September. At these dates, the sun rays fall vertically to the parallel Equator, which divides the world into two. During these days, day and night are equal in all parts of the world. This situation is called Equinox in the science of geography.

In the case of Equinox, the sun’s rays hit the Equator at a 90-degree angle. This angle means that the sun’s rays hit the Equator exactly perpendicularly. The world occurs both day and night as a result of its movement along its own axis and its movement around the Sun. This means that one side of the Earth at the same time is light and one side is dark.