Where is Paraguay?

Paraguay is located in the South America region at latitude -23.442503 and longitude -58.443832 and is part of the South American continent.

The DMS coordinates for the center of the country are:

  • 23° 26' 33.01'' S
  • 58° 26' 37.80'' W

You can see the location of Paraguay on the world map below:

Pin showing Paraguay on a map

Paraguay Neighboring Countries

The neighboring countries of Paraguay (PY) are:

  1. Argentina (AR)
  2. Bolivia (Plurinational State Of) (BO)
  3. Brazil (BR)

Paraguay is a landlocked country, which means it does not have direct access to the open ocean.

Paraguay Related Content

Paraguay Key Facts

CoordinatesLatitude: -23.442503
Longitude: -58.443832
Country CodesAlpha 2: PY
Alpha 3: PRY
Country Flag Emoji🇵🇾
Int. Phone Prefix+595
Capital cityAsunción
South America
South America
Country Area406,752 sq km
Population 20217,219,641
World Rank: 103
Median Age25.6
Life expectancy70.3
Major languagesSpanish (official) and Guarani (official) 46.3%, only Guarani 34%, only Spanish 15.2%, other (includes Portuguese, German, other indigenous languages) 4.1% , no response .4% (2012 est.)
UTC/GMT TimeNumber of time zones: 1
  • UTC−04:00
Internet TLD.py
Biggest AirportSilvio Pettirossi International Airport (ASU)
Average temperature23.55 °C
74.39 °F
Administrative Divisions1 capital 17 departments
Political systemPresidential representative democratic republic

Paraguay Economy Facts

World Bank Income GroupUpper middle income
World Bank RegionLatin America & Caribbean
CurrencyGuarani (PYG)
GDP in 2020$35.4 (billions of USD)
World Rank: 93
GDP per capita in 2020$4,968
World Rank: 100
Major Industries / Economic SectorsAgriculture, manufacturing, energy, services
Top 5 Import CountriesBrazil, Argentina, China, United States, Uruguay
Top 5 Export CountriesBrazil, Argentina, China, United States, Chile

Biggest Cities in Paraguay

Here are the largest cities in Paraguay based on 2021 data:

City Population
Asuncion 524,190
Ciudad del Este 320,782
San Lorenzo 287,977
Pedro Juan Caballero 115,583
Coronel Oviedo 88,101
Ita 81,084
San Antonio 69,976
Encarnacion 69,868
Aregua 67,487
San Ignacio 50,468

Map of Paraguay with the Largest Cities

Other Countries in the South America Region