Where is Ecuador?

Ecuador is located in the South America region at latitude -1.831239 and longitude -78.183406 and is part of the South American continent.

The DMS coordinates for the center of the country are:

  • 1° 49' 52.46'' S
  • 78° 11' 0.26'' W

You can see the location of Ecuador on the world map below:

Ecuador location on the map pointed out by a flag pin.

Ecuador Neighboring Countries

The neighboring countries of Ecuador (EC) are:

  1. Colombia (CO)
  2. Peru (PE)

Maritime Borders

Ecuador borders with the Pacific Ocean.

Ecuador Related Content

Ecuador Key Facts

CoordinatesLatitude: -1.831239
Longitude: -78.183406
Country CodesAlpha 2: EC
Alpha 3: ECU
Country Flag Emoji🇪🇨
Int. Phone Prefix+593
Capital cityQuito
South America
South America
Country Area283,561 sq km
Population 202117,888,474
World Rank: 66
Median Age27.6
Life expectancy73.7
Major languagesSpanish (Castilian) 93% (official), Quechua 4.1%, other indigenous 0.7%, foreign 2.2% (2010 est.)
UTC/GMT TimeNumber of time zones: 2
  • UTC−06:00 (GALT) — Galápagos Province
  • UTC−05:00 (Ecuador Time) — main territory of Ecuador
Internet TLD.ec
Biggest AirportMariscal Sucre International Airport (UIO)
Average temperature21.85 °C
71.33 °F
Administrative Divisions24 provinces
Political systemPresidential representative democratic republic

Ecuador Economy Facts

World Bank Income GroupUpper middle income
World Bank RegionLatin America & Caribbean
CurrencyUS Dollar (USD)
GDP in 2020$99.3 (billions of USD)
World Rank: 63
GDP per capita in 2020$5,628
World Rank: 96
Major Industries / Economic SectorsOil and gas, agriculture, manufacturing, energy
Top 5 Import CountriesUnited States, China, Brazil, Colombia, Peru
Top 5 Export CountriesUnited States, China, Colombia, Peru, Mexico

Biggest Cities in Ecuador

Here are the largest cities in Ecuador based on 2021 data:

City Population
Guayaquil 2,723,665
Quito 2,011,388
Cuenca 329,928
Santo Domingo de los Colorados 270,875
Machala 231,260
Eloy Alfaro 230,839
Manta 217,553
Portoviejo 206,682
Loja 170,280
Ambato 165,185

Map of Ecuador with the Largest Cities

Other Countries in the South America Region

Ecuador Regions Map

Ecuador Regions Map
Ecuador Regions Map

Ecuadorian Currency / What is the Currency of Ecuador?

What is the Currency of Ecuador? Ecuador’s currency is the United States Dollar.

Sucre was the currency of Ecuador between 1884 and 2000. The international code is ECS. It is divided into 1 Sucre, 10 Decimos or 100 Centavos. Sucre is a currency issued in the name of Marshal Antonio Jose de Sucre, who liberated the country from Spain in 1822.

Where is Ecuador? 1
Ecuador Currency

The government could not prevent the bad economy of the country. Therefore, the Government decided to change the national currency and the country passed to the United States Dollar in 2000.

Towards the end of the year 2000, the Ecuador economy within the economic crisis contracted about 10 percent within the year. It is inevitable for the government to make such a decision once the worst inflation rate in all South American countries is added

  • Coins: 1¢, 5¢, 10¢, $¼, $½ and $1.
  • Banknotes: $1, $2, $5, $10, $20, $50 and $100.