Spanish Speaking Countries

How Many Countries Speak Spanish?

How Many Countries Speak Spanish? 21 countries in the world speak Spanish. Particularly in countries such as Mexico, America, Spain, Colombia, Argentina, Venezuela, Peru, Chile, Ecuador and Guatemala, the density of native Spanish and Spanish speaking population is remarkable.

Over 400 million people in the world speak Spanish. Spanish is also the third most widely popular language on the internet with an 8 percent share.

Spanish Speaking Countries 1
Spanish Speaking Countries Map

Mexico has 104 million people with native Spanish, while 110 million people speak Spanish.

In the United States, there are about 50 million Spanish speakers, although 35 million are native speakers of Spanish.

The United States is followed by:

  • 46 million in Spain,
  • 45 million in Colombia,
  • 36 million in Argentina,
  • 29 million in Venezuela,
  • 25 million in Peru,
  • 17 million in Chile and
  • 11 million in Ecuador.

As for the foreign language, the first language that comes to mind is English. However, English is the most spoken language after Spanish and Chinese. But its effect is more than Spanish and Chinese.

In 2020, the number of English-speaking or learning people will exceed 2 billion, and only 15 percent of them will be native English. But rising economies will increase the popularity of other languages besides English.

Spanish is the second most spoken language in the world!

According to a survey conducted by the British Council, Spanish and Arabic will be among the most spoken languages. French, Chinese, and German will follow these languages. The other languages among the 10 languages to be spoken are; Portuguese, Italian, Russian, Japanese and Turkish.

Given the economic and cultural changes in research, it is not hard to imagine that the language that will shine the most in the coming years will be Spanish.

Map of Spanish-Speaking Countries in the World

Spanish Speaking Countries 2
Map of Spanish Speaking Countries in the World – Click to Enlarge

List of Spanish Speaking Countries

The list of the most Spanish speaking countries in the world is according the population of Spanish speakers:

  • Mexico
  • USA
  • Spain
  • Colombia
  • Argentina
  • Venezuela
  • Peru
  • Chile
  • Ecuador
  • Guatemala
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Bolivia
  • Honduras
  • El Salvador
  • Nicaragua
  • Costa Rica
  • Paraguay
  • Puerto Rico
  • Uruguay and Panama
Scroll to Top