Provinces of Latvia

There are 5 planning regions in Latvia. These regions align with the borders of the municipalities to which they border. Planning areas not used as a management unit were created in 2009.

In this article we will get some general information about Latvian territories. Below you can find the map of Provinces of Latvia.

Provinces of Latvia

Provinces of Latvia
Provinces of Latvia


Provinces of Latvia 1

Riga is the largest city. The surface area is 10,132 square kilometers. The population of 2009 is 1,030,071. Latvia’s most populous planning region is Riga. It also has the same name as Riga, the capital of the country. Because of the small size of the area, this is the place with the population density at the same time.


Provinces of Latvia 2

LiepājaThe largest city is Liepāja. The surface area is 13,596 square kilometers. The population of 2009 is 301,621.


Provinces of Latvia 3

DaugavpilsThe largest city is Daugavpils. The surface area is 14,549 square kilometers. The population of 2009 is 304,032. Latgale is the largest region in Latvia.


Provinces of Latvia 4

JelgavaThe largest city is Jelgava. The surface area is 10,733 square kilometers. The population of 2009 is 254,461.


Provinces of Latvia 5

ValmieraThe largest city is Valmiera. The surface area is 15,246 square kilometers. The population of 2009 is 211,309. This is the least populated area of Latvia.

Latvia Geography and Facts

The borders of Latvia, which is one of the three countries of the Baltic region in northern Europe, were drawn with Estonia in the north, with Lithuania in the south, with the Russian Federation and Belarus in the east. At the same time, there is a sea border with Sweden.

Where is Latvia?
Where is Latvia?


Most of Latvia consists of undulating plains. The shores of the Baltic and the Gulf of Riga are quite smooth. The most important stream is the River Dvina. Other streams pour into the Baltic Sea. There are large and small lakes near the Soviet border.


According to the Constitution (Satversme), Latvia is a parliamentary republic in which sovereignty belongs to the people represented by a single-parliamentary parliament (Saeima), which has 100 members elected by four years.


Located in northern Europe, Latvia is located in a cold climate zone and has two seasons; Summer and Winter. In the country with a humid climate, almost 9 months is the winter season and the temperatures fall down to -20. In the summer, temperatures rise to 23 degrees.


The population is mostly Christian. 34.2 percent of the Latvian population defines themselves the Lutheran, 24.1 percent, Roman Catholic, 17.8 percent, Roman Catholics, Russian Orthodox, and the remaining percentage as dependent on other religions.

Industry and Tourism

The private sector dominates the Latvian economy. The strategy of exit from the economic crisis is based on export-based growth since 2010, rather than imports based on external credit. In the country with high unemployment rate, efforts are made to minimize this problem.


The beauty and usefulness of souvenirs reflect the cultural heritage of Latvia. Most of the gift items are amber stones, which are sold all over the country, and there are many products that contain this stone. They make honey, traditional clothes, leather goods, household goods, and local dishes are good gifts to take home.

  • Population: 1,918,585
  • Population Density: 31 per Km2
  • Land Area: 62,200 Km ²