Ecuador Regions Map

Ecuador Regions Map
Ecuador Regions Map

Ecuadorian Currency / What is the Currency of Ecuador?

What is the Currency of Ecuador? Ecuador’s currency is the United States Dollar.

Sucre was the currency of Ecuador between 1884 and 2000. The international code is ECS. It is divided into 1 Sucre, 10 Decimos or 100 Centavos. Sucre is a currency issued in the name of Marshal Antonio Jose de Sucre, who liberated the country from Spain in 1822.

Ecuador Regions Map 1
Ecuador Currency

The government could not prevent the bad economy of the country. Therefore, the Government decided to change the national currency and the country passed to the United States Dollar in 2000.

Towards the end of the year 2000, the Ecuador economy within the economic crisis contracted about 10 percent within the year. It is inevitable for the government to make such a decision once the worst inflation rate in all South American countries is added

  • Coins: 1¢, 5¢, 10¢, $¼, $½ and $1.
  • Banknotes: $1, $2, $5, $10, $20, $50 and $100.