What is the Capital of Ecuador?

What is the Capital of Ecuador? Ecuador’s capital is Quito. The city’s elevation is 2,850 meters, making it the second-highest capital city in the world.

What is the Capital of Ecuador? 1
Where is Quito?

The Galapagos Islands in the Great Ocean are also part of the country borders. The equator giving its name to the country, divides the country into two. Charles Darwin has received reviews of Evolution Theory as a result of his research on Galapagos Island, which is located on the country’s borders.

When did Quito Become the Capital?

What is the Capital of Ecuador? 2

the American archaeologist Robert E. Bell found the oldest human beings traces in Quito in 1960, on the slopes of Ilaló Volcano, between Los Chillos and Tumbaco’s eastern valleys. There were obsidian glass tools made by collectors and hunters about 8,000 years ago.

On 15 August Francisco Pizarro founded San Francisco in Quito on 15 August, while the indigenous people continued to resist Spain in 1534. On December 6, 1534, Sebastián de Benalcázar, who captured Rumiñahui and ended all resistance to organize led the establishment of the city by 204 settlers. Rumiñahui was later executed on January 10, 1535. On March 14, 1541, it became a city and on February 14, 1556, Muy Noble y Muy Leal Ciudad took the name San Francisco de Quito (the City of Very Noble and Loyal San Francisco Kito).

Catholicism in Quito…

The Spanish immediately set up Catholicism by making churches long before they were officially established in Kito. In 1535 the San Francisco Monastery was built and the first 20 churches and monasteries were built during the colonial period. The Spanish effectively teach the indigenous people the Bible, but they used them especially as a colony in the first colonial period, in construction. The foundation date of Episcopal Diocese of Central Ecuador is 1545 and upgrade to Quito Episcopal Diocese date is 1849.

In 1809, after nearly 300 years of Spanish colonization, Quito was a city where about 10,000 residents lived. On August 10, 1809, a movement began to gain independence from Spain. While Juan Pío Montúfar became president, other important people came to different positions in the judiciary.

Features of Quito

What is the Capital of Ecuador? 3

Quito has a population of 1.40 million by 2018. The surface area is 324 square kilometers. Quito has a subtropical climate. Due to its proximity to Equator Quito has a fairly constant cold climate. The average annual temperature is 15.6 degrees.

Quito is located in the Guayllabamba River basin in the northwestern mountainous region of Ecuador. The city is on a long plateau on the eastern edges of Pichincha Volcano. Guayllabamba River Valley, where Quito is, is in between of volcanoes.

Main source of livelihood in the country is agriculture. Tropical fruits and vegetables are very important. Cocoa is the main production material of the country. Production is over twenty thousand tons per year. In addition, Ecuador is one of the leading countries in the world producing banana.

Important Places to See in Quito

What is the Capital of Ecuador? 4

In about a day or two you will discover and learn about Quito as well as the shops and restaurants you can visit, the street food you can taste local flavors, the joy of being in the middle of the world and the volcanoes surrounding the city. At the beginning of the places to see; Virgin Mary Statue, Plaza de la Independencia and The changing of the guard.