Where is Eswatini?

Eswatini is located in the Southern Africa region at latitude -26.522503 and longitude 31.465866 and is part of the African continent.

The DMS coordinates for the center of the country are:

  • 26° 31' 21.01'' S
  • 31° 27' 57.12'' E

You can see the location of Eswatini on the world map below:

Estwatini (prev. Swaziland) location on the map pointed out by a pin.

Eswatini Neighboring Countries

The neighboring countries of Eswatini (SZ) are:

  1. Mozambique (MZ)
  2. South Africa (ZA)

Eswatini is a landlocked country, which means it does not have direct access to the open ocean.

Eswatini Related Content

Eswatini Key Facts

CoordinatesLatitude: -26.522503
Longitude: 31.465866
Country CodesAlpha 2: SZ
Alpha 3: SWZ
Country Flag Emoji🇸🇿
Int. Phone Prefix+268
Capital cityMbabane
Southern Africa
Country Area17,364 sq km
Population 20211,172,369
World Rank: 156
Median Age21.5
Life expectancy57.1
Major languagesEnglish (official, used for government business), siSwati (official)
UTC/GMT TimeNumber of time zones: 1
  • UTC+02:00
Internet TLD.sz
Biggest AirportMatsapha Airport Manzini (MTS)
Average temperature21.40 °C
70.52 °F
Administrative Divisions4 regions
Political systemMonarchy

Eswatini Economy Facts

World Bank Income GroupLower middle income
World Bank RegionSub-Saharan Africa
CurrencyLilangeni (SZL)
GDP in 2020$4 (billions of USD)
World Rank: 160
GDP per capita in 2020$3,435
World Rank: 126
Major Industries / Economic SectorsSugar, wood pulp, soft drinks, textiles
Top 5 Import CountriesSouth Africa, United States, China, Germany, Japan
Top 5 Export CountriesSouth Africa, United States, Mozambique, Germany, United Kingdom

Biggest Cities in Eswatini

Here are the largest cities in Eswatini based on 2021 data:

City Population
Manzini 110,508
Mbabane 94,874
Mhlume 7,761
Siteki 6,152
Lobamba 5,800
Piggs Peak 5,750
Lavumisa 3,695
Hlatikulu 2,748

Map of Eswatini with the Largest Cities

Other Countries in the Southern Africa Region