21 Countries That Start with the Letter ‘B’

17 UN Nation Countries That Start with ‘B’

There are 17 recognized United Nations member countries* that start with the letter ‘B’:

#Country NameEmoji FlagUN NationAlpha 3 CodePopulation (2022)Continent
1Bahamas (the)🇧🇸YesBHS409,984Americas
11Bosnia and Herzegovina🇧🇦YesBIH3,233,526Europe
16Burkina Faso🇧🇫YesBFA22,673,762Africa

*UN Nation Countries are sovereign states recognized by the United Nations as members, signifying their acceptance and participation in global diplomacy and international law. These nations have full independence and control over their internal and external affairs, and they contribute to shaping global decisions and policies through their participation in the UN.

4 Non-UN Recognized Entities That Start with ‘B’

There are 4 non-UN recognized entities* that start with the letter “B”:

#Country NameEmoji FlagUN NationAlpha 3 CodePopulation (2022)Continent
2Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba🇧🇶NoBESAmericas
3Bouvet Island🇧🇻NoBVTAntarctica
4British Indian Ocean Territory (the)🇮🇴NoIOTAsia

*Non-UN Recognized Entities are geopolitical units without full recognition as independent nations by the United Nations, encompassing territories, dependencies, autonomous regions, protectorates, and de facto states. While not standalone nations, they exhibit varying degrees of self-governance and contribute significantly to cultural diversity, economic systems, and global affairs.

Countries with “B” on the World Map

Countries with B: FAQs

Is Bermuda a country?

Bermuda, represented by the flag 🇧🇲, is not an independent country. It is a British Overseas Territory located in the North Atlantic Ocean. While it has its own constitution and government that handles local affairs, the United Kingdom is responsible for its defense and foreign affairs.

Are Bonaire, Sint Eustatius, and Saba a country?

Bonaire, Sint Eustatius, and Saba, represented by the flag 🇧🇶, are not independent countries. They are special municipalities within the country of the Netherlands, often referred to as the Caribbean Netherlands. They are part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, but they are not part of the European Union.

Is Bouvet Island a country?

Bouvet Island, represented by the flag 🇧🇻, is not an independent country. It is an uninhabited territory and is the most remote island in the world. It’s a dependent territory of Norway, which is responsible for its administration and management.