Russia Political Map

Russia Political Map with Cities
Russia Political Map with Cities

Buy and Download the High Resolution Map on

Russia: Overview

  • Population: 146,745,098 (As of March 2020)
  • Capital: Moscow
  • Language: Russian
  • Bordering Countries: Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Belarus, Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, China, South Korea     
  • Land Area: 16,377,742 square km [1]
  • Coastline: 37,653 km 
  • Highest Point: Mount Elbrus at 5,642m   
  • Latitude & Longitude: 61.5240 Degrees North, 105.3188 Degrees East 

Important Sites

Russia has 29 important locations currently listed as UNESCO World Heritage Sites [2] – this includes 18 cultural sites, and 11 natural sites (we have listed 10 cultural, and 5 natural, for a full list see the UNESCO link in the sources):

Other important sites include the Cultural and Historic Ensemble of the Solovetsky Islands, and the Landscapes of Dauria.

Red Square and Kremlin UNESCO World Heritage Site
The Red Square and Kremlin UNESCO World Heritage Site

Transport Systems

Transport in Russia is one of the most extensive systems in the world. The logistics of transporting goods and people across such a vast distance is mind-boggling as seen on the Russia map. National transport is overseen by the Russian Ministry of Transport. 

Rail Transport – The railway system in Russia is the third-largest in the world. Russian Railways is the state-owned operator and employs over 900,000 people. Due to the large size of the country, the rail network is highly effective at long-distance travel. 

Road Transport – Road maintenance and upkeep is generally poor in Russia once outside the main cities. It is ranked extremely low in worldwide road system ranking. The main motorways are maintained as part of the Russian Federal Motorway system.

Waterways – Russia has a myriad of huge ports and has a well-developed waterway system. The country operates numerous water transport systems in the Baltic, Black Sea, Pacific Ocean, and Caspian Sea.

Rail network as part of the Trans-Siberian railway
Rail network as part of the Trans-Siberian railway

Famous Tourist Attractions

Russia is a vast country with a mind-boggling array of natural sites and tourist attractions [4]. The main Cities of Russia – Moscow and St. Petersburg offer some of the best architecture in the world. From the iconic Red Square, to the beautiful St. Isaac’s Cathedral. Aside from this, the different regions of Russia are bursting with historical sites and epic landscapes like the top attractions listed below:  

  • Mount Elbrus
  • Kizhi Island
  • Lake Baikal
  • Suzdal
  • The Kremlin
  • The Red Square
  • St. Basil’s Cathedral
  • State Hermitage Museum
  • St. Isaac’s Cathedral
  • Moscow Metro
  • Trans-Siberian Railway

Whether you love Orthodox architecture, or the harsh but stunning landscapes of Siberia, Russia has something for everyone. It provides an eclectic mix of culture, nature, heritage, and history. 

Beautiful architecture of St. Basil’s Cathedral
Beautiful architecture of St. Basil’s Cathedral

Beautiful architecture of St. Basil’s Cathedral


The official currency of Russia is the Russian Ruble (also spelled Rouble) – this is also the national currency for Belarus. The current version of the currency denoted RUB was established in 1998 after the Russian financial crisis of the same year. Whilst the main unit of currency is the Ruble, the subunit is the Kopeyka – 100 Kopeyka for 1 Ruble.

All Russian currency is currently printed at the state-owned mints in Moscow and Saint Petersburg. Control of inflation rates and the currency is overseen by the Central Bank of Russia based in Moscow.     

Political System & Economy

In the last 100 years, the political system of Russia has changed greatly. Russia is classed as a federation, and gained independence from the now-defunct Soviet Union in 1991. The current governmental structure [6] includes a President, and the Federal Assembly. The Federal Assembly consists of the upper Federation Council, and the lower State Duma.

In terms of administrative divisions, Russia has a complex system owing to the large geographical size of the country. The following are the main types of administrative division:

  • Oblasts (similar to provinces)
  • Krais (similar to Oblasts)
  • Okrug (located within Oblasts or Krais)
  • Federal Cities – Moscow & St. Petersburg

In addition to this, Russia has three major subdivisions that are in place to help specific government branches. These include Federal Districts, Economic Regions, and Military Districts.

The Russian economy is varied according to the vast size of the country as seen in the Political map of Russia. It’s main economies include machine building, fishing, forestry, agriculture, mining, and the export of natural resources. Mining in particular plays an important role as does the extraction of minerals and chemicals. In addition to this, Russia has an extensive and well-developed military manufacturing industry – it supplies equipment, missiles, and electronic components worldwide.

Ice Skating in Moscow
Ice Skating in Moscow


The geography of Russia is varied [5] – from the freezing expanse of the Siberian Tundra, to the shores of Lake Baikal; it is a diverse country. This is the largest country in the world and spans both Europe and Asia – to give perspective, it has double the landmass of the second largest country – Canada. In addition to this, it spans a staggering 11 time zones – from St. Petersburg in the west, to Vladivostok in the east.

Russia has a wide variety of different landforms including:

  • Caucasus Mountains
  • Ural Mountains
  • Kamchatka Peninsula
  • Siberian Plains
  • Siberian Plateau
  • Stanovoy Mountains

In addition to this, it has some of the largest rivers, and bodies of water in the world. For example, it has borders on the Caspian Sea, Black Sea, Baltic Sea, and the Sea if Japan. In terms of climate, Russia has an extreme climate again with great variation. Temperatures in the winter plumet below zero, particularly in the northern regions of the Taiga forest and Siberia. Alternatively, temperatures in the southern regions bordering the Black Sea and Caspian Sea can be pleasant.   

Settlements on Lake Baikal 
Settlements on Lake Baikal



Russia FAQs

How many countries are in Russia?

Russia is a single country spanning a large land-mass. Historically, during the Soviet Union, Russia incorporated other countries including Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Ukraine, and Latvia.

What countries borders Russia?

Russia borders with 11 other countries – Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Belarus, Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, China, South Korea.

Where is Russia in the world?

Russia is the largest country in the world – it is located to the east of mainland Europe, and to the north of Asia and China.

Is Russian in Europe or Asia?

Russia is classed as a transcontinental country – it spans both Europe and Asia. 77% of Russia’s land mass is in Asia, and 23% is in Europe.

Scroll to Top