Spain Flag Map and Meaning

Colors and the Meaning of the Spain Flag

Flag of Spain consists of three horizontal stripes. There are red strips of equal size at the top and bottom, and in the middle, there are an orange stripe 2 times the size of the red strip. On the left side of the orange ribbon is the royal coat of arms.

The coat of arms consists of symbols with a crown, divided into 4, and the Hercules Columns on both sides, which protect this emblem. These columns represent the Gibraltar and Ceuta regions. Each quarter badge represents the kingdoms of Spain. Also in the center of this coat of arms, there is the symbol of the House of the Bourbon of the Spanish Royal Family on the blue oval background, which is surrounded by a red frame.

Written in each of the two columns, there is a red slogan “Plus Ultra” written in the form of a red spiral curvy or fancy writing, which means “there is more to go beyond.” No other country has ever used red and yellow colors.

Spain Flag Map and Meaning 1
Spain Flag Map

History of the Spain Flag

The Spanish flag was adopted on 19 December 1981. The closest variation to the existing Spanish flag dates back to 1785 when Carlos III reigned in Spain. At that time, a different flag was required from the Bourbon Kingdoms, France and Sicily.

The new republic had adopted a flag with red, yellow and purple horizontal stripes. The old flag was reconsidered in 1936 and the necessary changes were made. The main changes on the Spanish flag have always been on the coat of arms of the dynasty over the years.

Spain also has a very common civilian flag around the world. This is the same as the national flag, but it is considered to be a flag with no emblem.

Neighboring Countries of Spain

Spain Flag Map and Meaning 2

Spain, located in Western Europe, has four neighbors. Spain is bordered by Portugal in the West, Gibraltar in the United Kingdom and France and Andorra in the north.

Main Characteristics of Spain

Spain, or officially the Kingdom of Spain, is governed by a constitutional monarchy regime in the form of parliamentary democracy.

The official language is Spanish. The country also has ethnic groups such as Romanian, Moroccan and Ecuadorian. There is no mention in the Spanish national anthem. On the other hand, the third most spoken language in the world is Spanish.

Most of the people of Spain are Catholic sects of Christianity. Although there are few Protestants, Jews, and Muslims, this number constitutes 1 percent of the population.

Calling Code34
Capital CityMadrid
Emoji Symbol🇪🇸
Highest PointTeide on Tenerife in the Canary Islands (3,178 m)
Total Area505,992 km2