Philippines Flag Map and Meaning

Colors and the Meaning of the Philippines Flag

The Philippines flag consists of two equal horizontal bands, the upper one on the upper blue and the red at the bottom, a white equilateral triangle placed in the upper part of the flag, and eight yellow rays of sunshine in the triangle and three five-pointed stars of the triangle.

The red color, the courage, and the blood spilled in the name of freedom and independence, the white color represents peace and purity.

The white triangle represents the equality and the Katipunan nationalist organization.

The three stars represent Luzon, Mindanao, and Cebu, the three main geographical regions of the Philippines.

The sun represents independence and its eight rays represent the eight provinces that led the Philippine uprising against the Spanish rule.

Philippines Flag Map
Philippines Flag Map

History of the Philippines Flag

The Philippine flag was adopted on 16 September 1997. The Philippines flag was first adopted in 1898 after gaining independence from Spain, but it was banned by the US in 1907 after taking control of the country. With the public pressure in 1920, the ban was removed.

Japan occupied the Philippines in 1942, and its flag was again banned until 1943. The US took control of the islands in 1945 and granted independence to the Philippines on 4 July 1946.

Small changes were made to the flag in 1997. The Philippine flag was first designed by General Aguinaldo during the deportation to Hong Kong in 1897.

The flag of the Philippines can also be called a war flag because if the country is at war, the red ribbon is replaced by the blue ribbon on the flag.

Neighboring Countries of Philippines

Map of the Neighboring Countries of Philippines
Neighboring Countries of the Philippines, see also: the Political Map of the Philippines.

The Philippines is a Southeast Asian state to the west of the Pacific Ocean, and its overseas neighbors are Taiwan and China to the north and Vietnam to the west.

Main Characteristics of Philippines

The Philippines is home to 7,107 islands and islets that fascinate visitors with its magnificent nature, sandy beaches and rainforest. Tourism in Southeast Asia has a great contribution to the economy. While the capital is Manila, the most populous city is Quezon City.

There are two official languages, English and Filipino. Out of these languages, eight languages are spoken. Currency is the Philippines Peso.

Tropical sea climate prevails. There are three seasons in the country. It is hot and dry from March to May, rain from June to November, and from December to February it is dry and cold. Rice, fish, and shellfish form the basis of the country’s cuisine.

They are influenced by Malaysia, Indonesia, Chinese and Indian cuisines. They use bamboo and banana leaves during cooking. Kari-Kari and Adobo are among the national dishes.

CodePH (PHL)
Calling Code63
Capital CityManila
Currencyphilippine peso (PHP)
Emoji Symbol🇵🇭
Highest PointMount Apo (2,954 m)
Total Area300,000 km2