New Zealand Flag Map and Meaning

Colors and the Meaning of the New Zealand Flag

The New Zealand flag carries the symbol of the United Kingdom located on the dark blue background, in the upper left quarter. It consists of four stars, each of which has five corners and is surrounded by thin white stripes.

The symbol of the United Kingdom is that New Zealand is a legacy of the Commonwealth. Blue background symbolizes the sky and the sea. The four stars represent Alfa, Beta, Gamma and Delta from the South team stars. South Constellation is an important constellation in the southern hemisphere and represents the geographical location of New Zealand.

New Zealand Flag Map and Meaning 1
New Zealand Flag Map

History of the New Zealand Flag

The New Zealand flag is a symbol of the region, the government and the people of New Zealand. The Royal Blue background comes from the Royal Fleet’s Blue Fleet. South team stars emphasize the location of this country in the South Pacific Ocean. New Zealand is considered a British colony in its historical origins.

The New Zealand flag has not been used in the past as it is today. The present flag was adopted in 1902 along with the grandeur and patriotism shown in the South African Wars. About 60 years ago, the flag of the United Kingdom, named ‘Union Jack’, was fluctuating over the New Zealand skies. But that was not the first flag of New Zealand. The Flag of the United Tribes of New Zealand from 1834 to 1840 was considered the first national flag of these islands.

In 2016, many people wanted to change the flag on the grounds that they reflected the colonial period, and New Zealand Prime Minister John Key supported this request and work was initiated to hold a referendum. In the first place, more than 40 models were examined by a special delegation. The delegation reduced the number of alternative flags to five. In the referendum held in December, the model to be voted against the current flag was determined. To the left of the black-and-white-blue flag, there was the silver fern, the symbol of New Zealand for over 160 years, proudly worn by many generations. 56.6 percent of the participants in the referendum opposed the change of the flag and continued to use the old flag.

United Tribes Flag

The need for a flag to represent New Zealand was first revealed in 1830 when Hokianga-made merchant ship, Sir George Murray, was seized by customs officers in Sydney. Australia, New Zealand’s major trading market, has been subject to British roaming laws, which must bear an official document detailing the construction, ownership, and nationality of each ship. Since New Zealand was not a British colony, the ships built there could not be registered under a British flag. Without a flag, trade ships and cargoes were seized.


In 1833, James Busby came to the British Resident to take up the position. In addition to resolving the trade barrier, Busby foresaw a flag to encourage the Māori chiefs to work together, and this has paved the way for a kind of collective government. The Australian authorities were enthusiastic, and a few months later a possible flag was designed. The flag was on a white background, four blue horizontal bands, on the left was the Union Jack. This design was seen by Busby as an inappropriate flag because the flag did not have a red color. The red color was very important for New Zealanders.

Reverend Henry Williams, the senior New Zealander mission of the Church Missionary Society, was commissioned to design an alternative flag. Williams prepared three new designs as a lieutenant in the Royal Navy.

Maori Chiefs and the Flag Selection

On March 20, 1834, 25 Far North chiefs and followers gathered at Bustan’s house in Waitangi to select a flag to represent New Zealand. A number of missionaries, settlers, and commanders of 10 British and three American ships joined the meeting. At the request of Busby, each chef stepped forward to select a flag and the son of one of them recorded the votes. The most popular design with a flag already used by the Church Missionary Society was adopted with twelve votes. Busby declared the selected flag as the New Zealand’s national flag.

The new flag was then sent to New South Wales. After some arrangements, it was sent to King William IV. King William approved the new flag and sent it to New Zealand through Admiralty along with instructions for the recognition of this approved flag. This flag was called the Flag of the United Tribes, which was accepted at the next meetings by the group of northern chefs.

The flag began to fluctuate in various parts of the Bay of Islands and on vessels trading with Sydney. The United Tribes flag remains important for Māori in the north.

Neighboring Countries of New Zealand

Neighboring Countries of New Zealand
Neighboring Countries of New Zealand

New Zealand, an island country in the South Pacific Ocean, is adjacent to the Australian country. It consists of two major (North Island and South Island) and many small islands.

Main Characteristics of New Zealand

New Zealand is one of the best countries in the world to travel with its scenic beauties, snow-capped mountains, and landscapes reminiscent of a fairy-tale land. The Lord of the Rings series, known worldwide, was shot in New Zealand. The Hobbit Village Shire is also attracted by tourists. Wellington is the capital of the country. It is the most populous capital in Oceania. There are two official languages, English and Maori language. New Zealand dollars are used as currency.

Generally, a mild climate is observed, while the northern parts are under the influence of the subtropical climate. Seasons are the exact opposite of those in the Northern Hemisphere. The hottest months are January and February, the coldest months are June and July.

The basis of the country’s cuisine is meat. Dairy products, vegetables and fruits are also widely consumed. There are also restaurants serving international cuisine in the cities.

CountryNew Zealand
CodeNZ (NZL)
Calling Code64
Capital CityWellington
Currencynew zealand dollar (NZD)
Emoji Symbol🇳🇿
Highest PointAoraki/Mount Cook (3,754 m)
Total Area270,534 km2