Regions of Belgium

Regions of Belgium. Belgium is a federal state with three communities, three regions and four languages. The establishment date of language divisions is 2 August 1963, Second Gilson Act. The division into language territories was a subject in the Belgian Constitution in 1970. Through constitutional reforms in the 1970s and 1980s, federal, regional and community governments were formed.

Furthermore, the three communities are, the Dutch-speaking Flemish Community (Vlaamse Gemeenschap), the French-speaking French Community (Communauté française), and the German-speaking German-speaking Community (Deutschsprachige Gemeinschaft, DG)

Moreover, the three regions are the Brussels-Capital Region (Brussels, Région de Bruxelles-Capitale in French, Brussels Hoofdstedelijk Gewest in Dutch), the Flemish Region (Flanders, Vlaams Gewest) and the Walloon Region (Wallonia, Région wallonne).

Regions of Belgium

Regions of Belgium
Regions of Belgium

Flemish Region

The population by the 2017 census is 6,516,011. The surface area is 13,522 square kilometers. Flemish region consists of 308 municipalities in total. The region’s official language is Dutch.

Walloon Region

According to the population census of the year 2017, the population is 3,614,473. Area, 16.844 km². Moreover, Walloon region consists of 262 municipalities in total. In Walloon region German and French are the official languages. And also Dutch is spoken for only administrative purposes in some areas.

Brussels-Capital Region

The population by the 2017 census is 1,191,604. The surface area is 161 square kilometers. Brussels-Capital region consists of 19 municipalities in total. Official languages are French and Dutch.

Scroll to Top