Sudan Flag Map and Meaning

Colors and the Meaning of the Sudan Flag

Sudan flag consists of green, black, white and red with Pan-Arab colors. On the horizontal, green, white and black colors that divide the flag into three equal strips, the red vertical isosceles triangle, which is formed to cover one third of the flag, is positioned on the side of the hoist.

The green color in the flag symbolizes Islam, the Fatimid dynasty and the welfare of the state. The white color in the middle lane represents peace, light and optimism as well as the white flag used in the 1924 revolution. The black color at the bottom of the flag represents the African continent. In addition, Sudan, which is the country name, means black in Arabic language. The red color, which is the basis of the triangle, symbolizes revolution, socialism and the blood shed in the struggle for the country to become a state.

Sudan Flag Map
Sudan Flag Map

History of the Sudan Flag

The first waving flag in Sudan, which has hosted many civilizations in history, was the black flag. This flag first waved in 1881 during the battle between the tribes (Mahdist War).

From 1899 to 1956, it was ruled as the Anglo-Egyptian Sudan under the union of Sudan, Egypt and the United Kingdom. During this period, Sudan did not have a flag of its own. The flag of Egypt and the flag of United Kingdom were fluctuating together in Sudan.

Later, a new flag was adopted as the British Governor General. This flag had a British Union Jack floor and was written in the middle of the flag in a white circle, GOVERNOR GENERAL OF THE SUDAN.

Upon Sudan’s independence from Egypt and the United Kingdom on January 1, 1956, the country adopted a blue-yellow-green tricolor flag as the national flag. This flag remained in use until 1970, when the current flag was adopted. In the flag, the blue represented the Nile, the yellow Sahara and the green agricultural fields. The colors on the flag were chosen because they were neutral between ethnic groups and political parties.

The present Sudanese flag was adopted in 1970 and has remained unchanged to the present day.

Neighboring Countries of Sudan

Neighboring Countries of Sudan
Neighboring Countries of Sudan

Located in East Africa. There are Egypt in the north, Red Sea in the northeast, Ethiopia and Eritrea in the east, South Sudan in the south, Central African Republic and Chad in the west and Libya in the northwest.

Main Characteristics of Sudan

In 2011, the country was divided into Sudan and South Sudan. Khartoum is the capital of the country. The official language is Arabic. However, there are also local languages spoken by the public. Sudanese pound is used as the currency.

Tropical climate prevails. The dry air mass of the north brings cold in winter and warm in summer. Humidity is low. The average temperature reaches 47 degrees. Lamb and chicken are consumed a lot. The importance of rice is great. They eat with their hands.

CodeSD (SDN)
Calling Code249
Capital CityKhartoum
Currencysudanese pound (SDG)
Emoji Symbol🇸🇩
Highest PointKinyeti (3,187 m)
Total Area2,505,810 km2