Russia Flag Map and Meaning

Colors and the Meaning of the Russia Flag

The Russian flag is made of three different colors, vertically arranged in the same size: white, blue and red.

Russia Flag Map
Russia Flag Map

There are different views about the use of these three colors by Russia. The first is based on documents from the 17th century when the first Russian warship was built. It is told that the Dutch master needs the flag of the ship and that he wants to get the order from the Tsar Aleksey Mikhailovich about the shape of the flag.

After the first Russian battleship named ‘Orel’ (Eagle) was founded in 1668, the tsar was looking at the flags in the European sample, and ordered the flag in three-color white, blue and red and with the eagle’s image on it.

According to the second view, white, blue, and red colors are said to symbolize Panslavism. These colors are used to symbolize the peoples of Slavic origin, and in Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Croatia, and the Czech Republic flags, these colors are even similar.

According to the third view, the three military ships that went out to the sea on August 6, 1693, during the Peter the Great period, the flag of the Tsar of Moscow, the three-colored white, blue and red and gold-colored two-headed eagle illustrated flag is expressed. The remains of the ‘Flag of Moscow Tsar’ from 1693 are still in the Central Naval Military Museum.

History of the Russia Flag

The present Russian flag was adopted on 21 August 1991, just before the country gained independence and on 26 December 1991 before becoming a member of the United Nations. Most historians claim that the origin of the flag of Russia was based on the visit of Peter the Great in 1699. He went to get information about the ship and decided that Russia should have a navy flag, and the Russian flag was designed similar to the Dutch flag.

The designed flag was used as a flag for Russian maritime merchant ships in 1799 and in 1883 it was accepted as the civil flag of Russia. After the Russian Revolution of 1917, the flag was replaced by a yellow emblem.

Neighboring Countries of Russia

Neighboring Countries of Russia
Neighboring Countries of Russia

Russia is located in the eastern part of Europe, in the north of Asia. Russia, the largest country in the world, has a surface area of 17,098,242 km². With a large part of the Asian continent, it has spread to some of Eastern Europe. Russia’s neighbors are Norway, Finland in the northwest, Poland, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, Belarus in the west, Ukraine in the southwest, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, China, Mongolia, and North Korea in the south. It is also neighbor with Japan and the US by the sea border.

Main Characteristics of Russia

The country, which covers one-eighth of the world’s living space, extends over the whole of North Asia and most of Eastern Europe. Russia is the 9th most populous country in the world with a population of 144 million.

7 million 762 thousand 602 square kilometers of forest area with the world’s largest forest reserves in the country, the amount of carbon dioxide absorption is after the Amazon Forest. The country has more than 40 national parks and more than 100 nature conservation areas. The Ural Mountains are among the oldest mountain ranges of the world, consisting of moraine peaks, not too high, with big and small hills. The highest point of Russia is Elbrus Mountain, which is the highest in Europe with an altitude of 5642 m.

CodeRU (RUS)
Calling Code7
Capital CityMoscow
Currencyrussian ruble (RUB)
Emoji Symbol🇷🇺
Highest PointMount Elbrus (5,642 m)
Total Area17,098,200 km2