Republic of the Congo Flag Map and Meaning

Colors and the Meaning of the Republic of the Congo Flag

The Republic of the Congo flag consists of Pan-African colors green, yellow and red. While the green color in the flag symbolizes the nature of the country, the yellow color, which is narrower than the other two stripes, represents the rich natural resources of the country and the red means the struggle for independence.

Related: Democratic Republic of Congo Flag Map

Between 1969 and 1991, the communist regime, which ruled the country, likened the flag to the flag of the Soviet Union as a necessity of the regime, and added yellow stars, hammers, anchors, symbols of socialism on a red background, and surrounded them with two branches.

Republic of the Congo Flag Map
Republic of the Congo Flag Map

History of the Republic of the Congo Flag

France forbade it to use its unique colonial flag under the colonial rule against the French Congo. This was because they were worried that it would increase the nationalist sentiment and could lead to a call for independence. However, with the rise of the decolonization movement in Africa, the French had to give Congo a limited autonomy as an autonomous republic within the French Society. On November 28, 1958, nine months after the referendum, the Legislative Assembly began to negotiate on a national flag.

The flag, adopted in 1959, was a flag similar to that of today, but on the left of the flag was the French Flag. By 1968, a coup took place in the country and the People’s Republic of Congo was founded. This was the first Marxist-Leninist country in Africa. The new flag, which was chosen to symbolize revolutionary change, was inspired by the Flag of the Soviet Union. This flag had a red background and a yellowhammer on the upper left, a yellow five-pointed star, and a green wreath.

In 1989, a revolution took place in Congo and the People’s Republic of the Congo collapsed to form a democratic country. On 10 June 1991, the National Conference re-elected the original flag in 1959, overseeing the transition to a democratic government.

Neighboring Countries of Republic of the Congo

Neighboring Countries of Republic of the Congo
Neighboring Countries of Republic of the Congo

It is located on the coast of the South Atlantic Ocean in West Africa. It is adjacent to Gabon in the west, Cameroon and Central African Republic in the north, the Democratic Republic of Congo in the west and southwest, and Angola in the south.

Main Characteristics of the Republic of the Congo

Also known as Congo-Brazzaville. Due to the name similarity with the neighboring Democratic Republic of Congo, both countries are named together with their capitals. The capital Brazzaville; It is the most populous city in the country and is located on the banks of the Congo River. French colonialism became the official language of the country after independence. The Central African CFA franc is used as the currency.

The equatorial climate prevails. The temperature is high, rainfall is high. Every season of the year is rainy. The average temperature throughout the year is 21-27 degrees. Chicken meat and seafood are of great importance in the country’s cuisine. They use plenty of spices in their meals. Popular dishes are trout, oysters and shrimp.

CountryRepublic of the Congo
CodeCG (COG)
Calling Code242
Capital CityBrazzaville
Currencycongolese franc (CDF)
Emoji Symbol🇨🇬
Highest PointMont Nabeba (1,020 m)
Total Area342,000 km2