Puerto Rico Flag Map and Meaning

Colors and the Meaning of the Puerto Rico Flag

Puerto Rico flag consists of five horizontal stripes. Three of the lines are red and the other two are white. To the left of the flag is a light blue triangle with a white five-pointed star.

Each part of this flag has its own meaning. Three red lines represent blood from brave warriors. The two white lines represent the country’s victory and peace after gaining independence. The white star represents the island of Puerto Rico and the blue sky and the blue coastal waters. The triangle represents the three branches of government.

Puerto Rico Flag Map
Puerto Rico Flag Map

History of the Puerto Rico Flag

There were three flags on the island of Puerto Rico in the 1490s. The first was the Christopher Columbus flag. It was the flag with the green cross in the middle of the flag on the white background, with the letter ‘F’ on the left and the letter ‘Y’ on the right. There was a crown on the letters.

The second flag used in Puerto Rico was the Burgundy Cross flag. The Burgundy Cross flag was used by the colonies of Spain. The flag consisted of two diagonal lines on the white background. The third flag was the Kingdom of Castile. The flag of Castile was divided into four equal parts. The top left and right bottom rectangle had a golden castle symbol. The other rectangles had a crowned lion figure.

Between 1701 and 1793, the flag in the castles of Spain fluctuated in Puerto Rico. This flag was a coat of arms on a white background. The coat of arms consisted of the crowned Castile flag. The waving flag in Puerto Rico in 1785 was similar to the current flag of Spain.

In 1868, a rebellion against the Spanish was attempted in Puerto Rico. This year the rebels embraced their own flag. The flag consisted of a white cross dividing the flag into four equal parts and two blue and two red rectangles. The upper rectangles were blue while the lower rectangles were red. The blue rectangle on the upper left had white five-pointed stars.

In 1873, a republic was declared in Spain and Puerto Rico. The flag of Puerto Rico has returned to the first Spanish Republic flag. The modern flag of Puerto Rico was designed in 1895 and was created as a symbol of revolution against the Spanish. In 1898, the United States bought Puerto Rico from Spain, and the American flag began to fluctuate on the territory of Puerto Rico. In 1952 Puerto Rico became a nation and the flag designed in 1895 was adopted with slight color changes.

In 1995, minor changes were made in the colors again. The last flag adopted in 1995 has continued to fluctuate on the territory of Puerto Rico unchanged until today.

Neighboring Countries of Puerto Rico

Neighboring Countries of Puerto Rico
Neighboring Countries of Puerto Rico

It is located in the northeast of the Caribbean Sea, east of the Dominican Republic. It is an island country connected to the United States, free of internal affairs.

Main Characteristics of Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico means the rich harbor in Spanish. It is a country preferred by tourists who want to take a sea vacation. San Juan, the capital; is the most developed city in terms of tourism with its favorable climate, beaches and nightlife. There are two official languages, Spanish and English. The currency is US dollars.

Puerto Rico's capital city on a map.
The capital city of Puerto Rico is San Juan

Climate also varies by region. A harsh and cold climate prevails in the mountainous areas of Puerto Rico. Forest areas are cold and rainy compared to the coast. The climate is tropical in coastal areas. It has a rich kitchen. Rice is the main food. Pork is consumed a lot.

CountryPuerto Rico
Calling Code1 787, 1 939
Capital CitySan Juan
Currencyunited states dollar (USD)
Emoji Symbol🇵🇷
Highest PointCerro Punta (1,338 m)
Internet TLD.pr
Total Area9,104 km2