Montana Counties Map

Montana (MT) on the US Map

The State of Montana highlighted on the US map.
Montana highlighted on the US map.

Map of Montana Counties

Below is a map of the 56 counties of Montana (you can click on the map to enlarge it and to see the major city in each state).

Colorful Montana counties map showing counties, main cities, and neighboring states.
Montana Counties Map with cities.

Interactive Map of Montana Counties

Click on any of the counties on the map to see the county’s population, economic data, time zone, and zip code (the data will appear below the map). Data is sourced from the US Census 2021.

List of the Counties of Montana:

CountyPopulationPer sq. kmLargest City
Beaverhead County9,3910.65Dillon
Big Horn County13,1981.02Hardin
Blaine County7,0510.64Fort Belknap Agency
Broadwater County6,6412.15Townsend
Carbon County10,4881.98Red Lodge
Carter County1,3490.16Ekalaka
Cascade County84,17812.05Great Falls
Chouteau County5,8960.57Fort Benton
Custer County11,9681.22Miles City
Daniels County1,7390.47Scobey
Dawson County9,0031.47Glendive
Deer Lodge County9,3804.92Anaconda
Fallon County3,0740.73Baker
Fergus County11,4641.02Lewistown
Flathead County103,4007.85Kalispell
Gallatin County116,72517.3Bozeman
Garfield County9720.08Jordan
Glacier County13,8271.78North Browning
Golden Valley County8200.27Ryegate
Granite County3,3330.75Philipsburg
Hill County16,2972.17Havre
Jefferson County12,0572.81Montana City
Judith Basin County2,0040.41Stanford
Lake County31,0308.04Polson
Lewis and Clark County70,3407.85Helena
Liberty County2,0260.55Chester
Lincoln County19,6742.1Libby
Madison County8,4990.91Big Sky
McCone County1,8050.26Circle
Meagher County1,9320.31White Sulphur Springs
Mineral County4,4901.42Superior
Missoula County117,37917.48Missoula
Musselshell County4,8130.99Roundup
Park County17,0722.35Livingston
Petroleum County4340.1Winnett
Phillips County4,2330.32Malta
Pondera County5,9741.42Conrad
Powder River County1,7590.21Broadus
Powell County6,9551.15Deer Lodge
Prairie County1,2270.27Terry
Ravalli County43,7907.07Hamilton
Richland County11,3752.11Sidney
Roosevelt County10,8841.78Wolf Point
Rosebud County8,4640.65Lame Deer
Sanders County12,2981.72Thompson Falls
Sheridan County3,5220.81Plentywood
Silver Bow County35,01718.83Butte
Stillwater County8,9161.92Columbus
Sweet Grass County3,6900.77Big Timber
Teton County6,1731.05Choteau
Toole County5,0131.01Shelby
Treasure County6930.27Hysham
Valley County7,5530.59Glasgow
Wheatland County2,0820.57Harlowton
Wibaux County1,0180.44Wibaux
Yellowstone County163,59323.98Billings