Regions of Georgia

In Georgia, the regional division is autonomous republics, municipal and regional municipalities.

In this article, we will get some general information about the 2 autonomous regions, the 9 regions of Georgia and its capital city Tbilisi.

You can see the regions of Georgia on the map below:

Regions of Georgia

A color-coded map showing the different regions of Georgia with labels for each region.
Regions of Georgia


Aerial view of a small peninsula with red-roofed buildings surrounded by calm blue waters.

Sukhumi (Sokhumi) is the capital city. It has a population of 240,705. The surface area is 8,660 square kilometers.

Samegrelo-Zemo Svaneti

A grand white building with arches sits in a manicured park with a fountain, trees, and people relaxing, against a mountainous backdrop.

Zugdidi is the capital. It has a population of 331,145. The surface area is 7,440 square kilometers.


A scenic view of a hilly region with greenery, buildings in the foreground, mountains in the back, under a semi-cloudy sky.

Ozurgeti is the capital. It has a population of 113,000. The surface area is 2,033 square kilometers.


A sunny day showcases a street clock, a cityscape with a historic tower, modern skyscrapers, and a columned statue.

Batumi is the capital. It has a population of 336,077. The surface area is 2,880 square kilometers.

Racha-Lechkhumi and Kvemo Svaneti

A panoramic view of a valley with a small town nestled among rolling hills and mountains in the background under a clear sky.

Ambrolauri is the capital. It has a population of 31,927. The surface area is 4,990 square kilometers.


A serene beach scene with blue skies, calm sea, colorful bean bags, umbrellas, and green foliage.

Kuta is the capital. It has a population of 536,052. The surface area is 6,475 square kilometers.


Aerial view of a medieval fortress with multiple towers and walls, under a sky with dramatic clouds.

Akhaltsikhe is the capital. It has a population of 160,262. The surface area is 6,413 square kilometers.

Shida Kartli

Ancient cave dwellings carved into a hillside, with a brick structure among them, set against green hills and a cloudy sky.

Gori is the capital. It has a population of 264,633. The surface area is 5,729 square kilometers.


Aerial view of an ancient church on a hilltop at sunset with a river winding in the background and a small town nestled in the valley.

Mtskheta is the capital. It has a population of 94,370. The surface area is 6,786 square kilometers.

Kvemo Kartli

Aerial view of a cityscape with large block letters spelling "RUSTAVI" superimposed over the image.

Rustavi is the capital. It has a population of 423,986. The surface area is 6,072 square kilometers.


A picturesque town with traditional buildings, cobblestone streets, a modern sculpture, trees, and a clear sky.

Telavi is the capital. It has a population of 319,144. The surface area is 11,311 square kilometers.


A colorful view of a hillside town with densely packed buildings, featuring a prominent stone church with a conical roof in the foreground.

It has a population of 1,485,293. The surface area is 725.2 square kilometers.

Georgia Maps, Geography, Facts

  • Population: 3,905,511
  • Population Density: 56 per Km2
  • Land Area: 69,490 Km Β²

Georgia is located in the western part of the Caucasus in the south-east of Europe.

In the north lies Russia, Azerbaijan in the east and in the south is bordered by Turkey and Armenia. The Western border is the Black Sea.

A colorful world map with countries in various shades, oceans in blue, and a red circle marker over central Europe.
Where is Georgia?


The territory of Georgia is mountainous and divided into three regions.

The North Caucasus Range, which stretches like a set in the north, comes from a series of parallel mountain strands rising eastward and separated by deep valleys.

The highest points of the region are Shhara, Rustaveli, Tetnults. There are many streams from glacier-covered mountains.


The administrative form of Georgia is the presidential type republic. Moreover, the head of the Georgian state is the president. The elected president, who is elected every five years in the country, can remain in this mission for only two terms.


In the west of Georgia, subtropical climate prevails. The climate in the east is moderate. In the western part of the Black Sea coast, the summers are warm and humid.

While the average temperature of June in the country is 23 degrees, the average of January is 6 degrees. Precipitation is mostly in the spring. Generally, in Georgia, summers are hot, average 24 degrees, and winters are 0 degrees.


The majority of the population has an Orthodox belief.

Industry and Tourism

Agriculture is the most important area in the country’s economy. Approximately 40% of the population works in this area. The most grown agricultural products in the country are grape, citrus, tea, and hazelnut. Furthermore, half of the country’s industry is made up of food and light industrial products. There are copper, gold, coal reserves in the country.

Georgia, which is the holiday resort of the Union during the USSR, also has high tourism potential. The Black Sea coast attracts attention with its natural and cultural riches.


There are many civilizations in Georgia architecture. Moreover, various architectural styles have been applied to calendars, towers, ramparts, and churches. Georgia, as architectural art, is at a good level.


The most popular sports throughout the country are football, basketball, rugby, wrestling, judo, and halter.