Afghanistan Provinces Map

Afghanistan Provinces Map 1
Afghanistan Provinces Map – High Detailed Vector Illustration – buy this image

The provinces are administrative units within Afghanistan. Unlike a country’s capital, each province has its own unique characteristics and history, which may vary substantially from region to region. Each province forms part of a larger unit (region) called a maqam, which encompasses a number of sub-regions.

For example, Kohistan is an administrative district in Pakistan with a population of over 200,000 people, which is located along the Pir Panjal Range and contains parts of two other provinces: Faryab and Khost.

Two new provinces have been added to the south of Afghanistan, Daikondi and Panjshir. These are the first provinces created since 2001.

Afghanistan has a total of 32 provinces:

  1. Badakhshan
  2. Badghes
  3. Baghlan
  4. Balkh
  5. Bamyan
  6. Daykundi
  7. Farah
  8. Faryab
  9. Ghazni
  10. Ghor
  11. Helmand
  12. Herat
  13. Jawzjan
  14. Kabul
  15. Kandahar
  16. Kapisa
  17. Khost
  18. Kunarha
  19. Kunduz
  20. Laghman
  21. Logar
  22. Wardak
  23. Nangarhar
  24. Nimroz
  25. Noristan
  26. Paktika
  27. Paktya
  28. Panjshir
  29. Parwan
  30. Samangan
  31. Sar-e-Pul
  32. Takhar Uruzgan Zabul

On August 15th, 2021 the Taliban took control of all provinces except the Panjshir province.

Scroll to Top