Czech Currency / What is the Currency of the Czech Republic?

What is the Currency of Czech Republic? Czech Republic’s currency is the Czech Koruna.

The strong economy of the country caused it to remain in its own currency despite EU membership. The international code is CZK and its symbol is shown as Kč. It began to be used on 8 February 1993 and is expressed in Czech as “koruna česká”.

Koruna, which has been used since 1993, is known as English crown. It is rarely seen that the word koruna is used in the form of a kron. In addition, the word “kron” also means crown. The official name of the money is called “koruna česká”, while it is called “koruna české” when it is plural. It can be called different names because it is a money belonging to Slavic languages. The lower unit is called haléřů and equals 1 koruna 100 haléřů. On the contrary, it is not used today and the smallest unit in the country is 1 koruna.

In 1892 the Austro-Hungarian krona was replaced by the gulden and it was accepted that 1 gulden was equal to 2 krons. The name “Krone” was first used by Emperor Franz Joseph I. With the disintegration of the empire in 1918, Czech and Slovak’s nationals built Czechoslovakia. The only successor to the name of the old money was Czechoslovakia and started to be called koruna.

One of the countries that are members of the European Union and do not give up using their own money is the Czech Republic. The reason for this is trust in its own economy and money. Many of the nation’s citizens have the same thoughts. However, it is known that after a while, it will be forced to change to the Euro.

Coins and Banknotes

Various Czech koruna banknotes and coins on a surface.
Czech Koruna
  • Coins: 1 Kč, 2 Kč, 5 Kč, 10 Kč, 20 Kč and 50 Kč
  • Banknotes: 100 Kč, 200 Kč, 500 Kč, 1000 Kč, 2000 Kč and 5000 Kč