South Dakota Counties Map

South Dakota (SD) on the US Map

The State of South Dakota highlighted on the US map.
State of South Dakota highlighted on the US map.

Map of South Dakota Counties

Below is a map of the 66 counties of South Dakota (you can click on the map to enlarge it and to see the major city in each state).

South Dakota colorful counties map with neighboring states.

Interactive Map of South Dakota Counties

Click on any of the counties on the map to see its population, economic data, time zone, and zip code (the data will appear below the map). Data is sourced from the US Census 2021.

*The data for Oglala Lakota is currently being updated (previously the county was called Shannon).

List of the Counties of South Dakota:

CountyPopulationPer sq. kmLargest City
Aurora County2,6491.44Plankinton
Beadle County18,9595.82Huron
Bennett County3,4111.11Martin
Bon Homme County7,0204.81Springfield
Brookings County34,31516.72Brookings
Brown County38,4718.67Aberdeen
Brule County5,2472.48Chamberlain
Buffalo County1,9741.62Fort Thompson
Butte County10,1671.74Belle Fourche
Campbell County1,5480.81Herreid
Charles Mix County9,3463.29Wagner
Clark County3,7911.53Clark
Clay County14,81613.88Vermillion
Codington County28,28915.89Watertown
Corson County3,9650.62McLaughlin
Custer County8,3602.07Custer
Davison County19,94417.68Mitchell
Day County5,4872.06Webster
Deuel County4,2832.66Clear Lake
Dewey County5,3430.9North Eagle Butte
Douglas County2,8382.54Armour
Edmunds County4,0051.37Ipswich
Fall River County6,9791.55Hot Springs
Faulk County2,1570.85Faulkton
Grant County7,5504.28Milbank
Gregory County4,0041.52Gregory
Haakon County1,8680.4Philip
Hamlin County6,1274.67Estelline
Hand County3,0610.82Miller
Hanson County3,4293.05Alexandria
Harding County1,1790.17Buffalo
Hughes County17,8299.28Pierre
Hutchinson County7,4123.52Parkston
Hyde County1,3810.62Highmore
Jackson County2,8680.59Wanblee
Jerauld County1,8111.33Wessington Springs
Jones County9160.36Murdo
Kingsbury County5,1312.38De Smet
Lake County11,3587.79Madison
Lawrence County25,68712.4Spearfish
Lincoln County63,23342.29Sioux Falls
Lyman County3,7460.88Lower Brule
Marshall County4,3732.01Britton
McCook County5,6763.82Salem
McPherson County2,2450.76Eureka
Meade County29,5613.29Box Elder
Mellette County1,9160.57White River
Miner County2,2931.55Howard
Minnehaha County194,88493.26Sioux Falls
Moody County6,3354.71Flandreau
Oglala Lakota County13,8352.55Pine Ridge
Pennington County108,70715.12Rapid City
Perkins County2,9770.4Lemmon
Potter County2,6131.17Gettysburg
Roberts County10,2543.6Sisseton
Sanborn County2,3711.61Woonsocket
Spink County6,4081.65Redfield
Stanley County2,9630.79Fort Pierre
Sully County1,2790.49Onida
Todd County9,4342.62Rosebud
Tripp County5,6151.34Winner
Turner County8,6215.39Parker
Union County16,42413.76Dakota Dunes
Walworth County5,3552.92Mobridge
Yankton County23,21317.2Yankton
Ziebach County2,4790.49Eagle Butte