Decentralized Regions of Greece

Decentralized Regions of Greece was created as part of the Kallikratis reform (Law 3852/2010), a comprehensive reform of the administrative structure of the country in January 2011.

Decentralized administrations have both administrative and financial autonomy, and use state authorities to address urban planning, environmental and energy policies, forestry, migration and citizenship. They are also responsible for supervising the primary and secondary level administrative departments, including territories and municipalities.

Decentralized administrations are governed by a secretary general appointed by the government and assisted by an advisory council formed by representatives of the district governors and municipalities.

You can see Decentralized Regions of Greece on the map below.

Decentralized Regions of Greece

A color-coded map showing the decentralized regions of Greece, with each region labeled in English.
Decentralized Regions of Greece


A scenic view of the Acropolis in Athens, Greece, during sunset with the Parthenon and other ancient ruins visible against a softly lit sky.

The capital is Athens. The population of 2011 is 3,828,434. The surface area is 3,808 square kilometers.

Macedonia and Thrace

An image of an illuminated ancient Roman archway at night with people and modern buildings in the background.

The capital is Thessaloniki. The population of 2011 is 2,490,290. The surface area is 32,968 square kilometers.

Epirus and Western Macedonia

Aerial shot of a historic town on a peninsula, surrounded by a lake and mountains at sunrise/sunset.

The capital is Ioannina. The population of 2011 is 620,545. The surface area is 18,654 square kilometers.

Thessaly and Central Greece

An ancient amphitheater with tiered seating and grassy slopes, under a cloudy sky, with modern buildings in the background.

The capital is Larissa. The population of 2011 is 1,280,152. The surface area is 29,586 square kilometers.

Peloponnese, Western Greece and the Ionian

Aerial view of a coastal city with clear blue waters, docks, and urban buildings.

The capital is Patras. The population of 2011 is 1,465,554. The surface area is 28,847 square kilometers.


An image of a coastal cityscape at dusk with illuminated buildings and streets, and a calm sea reflecting city lights.

The capital is Piraeus. The population of 2011 is 508,246. The surface area is 9,122 square kilometers.


Aerial view of a coastal fortress with a marina full of boats adjacent to an urban area.

The capital is Heraklion. The population of 2011 is 623,065. The surface area is 8,336 square kilometers.

Autonomous Monastic State of Mount Athos

A building perched on a steep cliff overlooking a body of water with vegetation on the left side and a clear sky above.
Simonos Petras monastery, Mount Athos, Greece

The population of 2011 is 1,811. The surface area is 335.63 square kilometers.