Australian States and Territories

Australia is divided into New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, Western Australia and Northern Territory. While New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia; are in states status, Northern Territory is in territory status. In the below map you can find the Australian State Borders.

Australian States and Territories 1
Australian State Borders

New South Wales

Australian States and Territories 2

The capital city of the state with a surface area of 809,444 km² is Sydney. Population 7.4 million and it is the most populous state of the country. Moreover, population distribution; Australians: 25.0%, English: 24.2%, Irish: 7.4%, Scots: 6.0%, Chinese: 4.3%.


Mount Kosciuszko (2,228 m) is the highest point of the state of New South Wales.

Furthermore, Sydney is the first British colonial district on the island.

Moreover, Wollongong is home to the Nan Tien Temple, the largest Buddhist temple in the southern half.

Furthermore, Sydney Fish Market is the world’s third largest fish market.

Aboriginal tribes lived in the state for 40,000 to 60,000 years.

Also, Sydney’s Chinatown is home to the Chinese Friendship Garden, built in 1988 as a gift to the country in Darling Harbor Region, and is the only traditional Chinese garden outside of China.


Australian States and Territories 3

The capital of the province with an area of 1,853,000 km² is Brisbane. The population is approximately 4.7 million. Population distribution; English (28.1%), Australians (27.4%), Irish (8.4%), Scottish (7.3%) and German (4.7%).


Queensland was honored on behalf of Queen Victoria, who separated from New South Wales on June 6, 1859. Today this date is celebrated as Queensland Day.

Moreover, Queensland; is home to 5 of Australia’s World Natural Heritage sites; Wet Tropics, the Riversleigh Fossil Fields, Fraser Island, Scenic Rim National Parks and the world’s Wonder of the Great Barrier Reef.

Also, Queensland became the first Australian colony to establish its own parliament.


Australian States and Territories 4

Tasmania is an island in the south-east of Australia. It is a province of Australia and the capital is Hobart. The surface area is 68,401 km² and the population is around 520,000.


The northernmost point of Tasmania is the Boundary Island, a natural reserve.

Furthermore, The highest point in Tasmania is Mount Ossa (1,617 m).

Moreover, The unofficial animal of the State is a madman found in the wild state of Tasmania, the only state of the island, Tasmania. Tasmania’s demon is about to be extinct.

Also, the first use of anesthesia in the Southern Hemisphere was in Tasmania.

Furthermore, Launceston is the first city in Australia to be hydropower-lit and illuminated by its first underground sewer.

Tasmania is a haven and habitat for many rare animals and plants.

Also, Tasmania has the cleanest air in the world.

Moreover, The most famous extinct animal of Tasmania is the Tasmanian Tiger, which was consumed in 1936.


Australian States and Territories 5

The city of Melbourne is the capital of Victoria State and has an area of 237,629 km². The population is approximately 6.2 million.


After Tasmania, Victoria, England, Scotland, which is the smallest province, has the same face size as the neighbor.

Furthermore, 36% of the province of Victoria is covered with forests.

The Latrobe Valley in Victoria has one of the largest brown coal deposits in the world.

Also, There are more than 180 languages and dialects spoken in Victoria.

Moreover, Vegemite was invented in Melbourne, a national toast popular in Australia.

Western Australia


It is the largest province of Australia with a surface area of 2.646.000 km² and has a population of 2.6 million. The province’s capital is Perth.


It has 12,500 km of shoreline.

If Western Australia was a country, it would be the 10th largest country in the world.

Furthermore, Western Australia is home to the longest railway line in the world.

The Kalgoorlie mine located in the state is the largest gold producer in the world and at the same time, the Argyle mine is the largest diamond producer in the world.

Also, King’s Park in Perth is the largest city park in the world.

Australian Currency

What is the Currency of Australia?

Australia’s official currency is the Australian dollar.

The Australian dollar (currency code AUD) is Australian currency since 1966. It is also the currency of Christmas Island, Cocos Islands, Norfolk Island and independent Pacific Island countries Kiribati, Nauru and Tuvalu. It is usually abbreviated with a dollar sign ($). Furthermore, alternative uses of Australian dollars to distinguish from other dollar currencies are A $ or $ A, $ AU, or AU $.

Australian States and Territories 6
Australian Currency

Australian dollars are the most traded currencies in the world after American dollars, Euros, British sterling, Japanese yen and Canadian dollars. Represents 4-5% of foreign exchange transactions.

Coins and Banknotes

Coins: $2, $1, 50 cent, 20 cent, 10 cent and 5 cent

Banknotes: $100, $50, $20, $10 ve $5

Scroll to Top